Home Search Recommendations
9 July, 2018
Tips for Landlords & Tenants
9 August, 2018
Show all

Mexican muralists

Mexican muralism is one of the most recognized artistic movements in the world. This trend originated during Mexican Revolution in 1910, refreshing art, making it communicative, collective and influencing masses.

Rivera, Orozco and Siqueiros are the three great representatives of this period. Committed to people, they were part of the post-revolutionary generation that brought back nationalist ideals and vindicated principles like equality among social classes through their paintings.

José Clemente Orozco (1883-1949). The main themes of his work were the pain and suffering of different classes. He was a painter committed to social struggles, which he captured with fiercely impressive realism. Some of its most representative pieces are the murals in San Idelfonso (1926), Hospicio Cabañas (1937-1939) and Bellas Artes (1946).

David Alfaro Siqueiros (1896-1974). Through his work he approached the movement of Mexican Revolution, as well as the struggle of peasants and workers, victims of oppression. A feature in his style is the constant use of perspective, which makes the spectator feel as if the character leaves the paining to reach out. Among his most representative pieces are the murals in Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (1952-1956) and Polyforum Cultural Siqueiros (1971), next to the World Trade Center in Mexico City.

Diego Rivera (1886-1957) also called “Monster of Nature”. In his work we find a reconciling vision with our indigenous past, as well as his interest in science, nature, the feminine and masculine, social revolts and poverty. Among his extensive legacy, are the murals in Escuela Nacional Preparatoria (1922), Secretaría de Educación Pública (1928), El Hombre Controlador del Universo (Controller Man of the Universe) in Bellas Artes (1934), Palacio Nacional (1935), Sueño de una Tarde Dominical (Dream of a Sunday afternoon) in Alameda Central (1948), the mural in Estadio Olímpico de Ciudad Universitaria (Olympic Stadium of University City) (1992), and the glass mosaic in Insurgentes Theatre (1953).